2023 WWE Royal Rumble results, card, news, stories and match information

Best moments in Royal Rumble history (3:31)

Check out some of the best moments from WWE's Royal Rumble including Stone Cold Steve Austin winning it three times and John Cena making a shocking return in 2008. (3:31)

60 participants. Two battle royal matches. Three championships up for grabs. And a Pitch Black match?

San Antonio, get your popcorn ready, because the WWE is touching down for its first pay-per-view event of the year at the AlamoDome on Saturday, Jan. 28.

The obvious marquee bouts are the women's and men's 30-wrestler battle royals, as the winner of each match will earn a guaranteed title shot against a world champion of their choice at WrestleMania.

Roman Reigns will put both of his world championships on the line at the Royal Rumble when he faces Kevin Owens. Owens' constant feuding with The Bloodline and former best friend Sami Zayn put KO on the pathway to a title shot with Reigns.

The other longstanding champion in WWE, Bianca Belair, will defend her Raw Women's Championship against Alexa Bliss. Bliss won two matches in one night to earn this upcoming title shot. She then immediately turned on Belair, a woman she stood side-by-side with against Bayley and Damage CTRL, first threatening to hit the champion with Sister Abigail -- seemingly starting a turn to the dark side in the wake of Bray Wyatt's return -- and then hitting Belair with a vase during a sit-down interview. After getting herself disqualified in a match with Belair on Raw, Bliss said that she had already won by getting in Belair's head. Fed up with Bliss, Belair laid out a challenge for the two to battle at the Rumble.

Take a look below at the confirmed matches for the 2023 Royal Rumble. Check back for updates and predictions.

Royal Rumble 2023 fight card

  • Men's Royal Rumble: Winner earns a world championship match at WrestleMania 39

  • Women's Royal Rumble: Winner earns a world championship match at WrestleMania 39

  • Mountain Dew Pitch Black match: Bray Wyatt vs. LA Knight

  • Undisputed WWE Universal championship: Roman Reigns (c) vs. Kevin Owens

  • WWE Raw women's championship: Bianca Belair (c) vs. Alexa Bliss

Remembering The Rumbles

For the 35th time in WWE history, the Royal Rumble pay-per-view signaled the unofficial ramp-up towards WrestleMania season. The 2022 edition of one of WWE's signature events took place on Saturday, Jan. 29 at The Dome at America's Center in St. Louis, MO. It was the second time the Royal Rumble emanated from St. Louis; the first time was in 2012, at what was then the Scottrade Center (now known as Enterprise Center).

After being held in a crowdless environment in 2021, fans returned in 2022.

For the fifth year running, there were two Royal Rumble matches -- one for men, one for women -- with the respective winners challenging for the world title of their choice at WrestleMania 38, which will take place on April 2 and 3 at AT&T Stadium in Dallas, TX.

Here's everything you need to know about Royal Rumble 2022, as well as the history of one of WWE's longest running events.

Royal Rumble 2022 results | Reaction

The 34th WWE Royal Rumble pay-per-view was held on Sunday, Jan. 31, 2021 inside of the "WWE Thunderdome" at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, FL -- the sixth time the event was held in Florida. As a result of measures put in place to curb the spread of COVID-19, there was no live audience inside of the Thunderdome, which WWE utilized from August 2020 through July 2021, at three different venues in the state -- Amway Arena in Orlando, Tropicana Field, and the Yuengling Center in Tampa, FL. The set utilized video LED boards that broadcasted the faces of fans as a facsimile crowd.

Royal Rumble 2021 results | Reaction

(c) - indicates defending champion

The 33rd edition of the WWE Royal Rumble pay-per-view took place on Sunday, Jan. 26, 2020 at Minute Maid Park in Houston, TX. This was the second time the Royal Rumble pay-per-view was held in Houston, and the first time in 31 years. The second ever Royal Rumble PPV, in 1989, was held at "The Summit", formerly the home of the Houston Rockets, which was eventually converted into a megachurch when the Rockets and Houston Comets moved to the Toyota Center in 2003. At that event, Big John Studd entered at No. 27 and won the 30-man Royal Rumble match, which was the main event.

This Royal Rumble marked the second consecutive year in which the Royal Rumble pay-per-view is being held inside of a baseball stadium, following the 2019 Royal Rumble at Phoenix's Chase Field. Previously, WWE held WrestleMania events at four stadiums that housed major league baseball teams -- WrestleMania VI (Toronto's Skydome), WrestleMania X-Seven (Houston Astrodome), WrestleMania XIX (Safeco Field in Seattle) and WrestleMania XXVIII (Sun Life Stadium, previously Joe Robbie Stadium and now Hard Rock Stadium in Miami).

For the third consecutive year, there was both a men's and women's Royal Rumble match. The winner of each match is guaranteed a world title shot at WrestleMania 36 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida.

Royal Rumble 2020 results | Recap | Rumble Winner Interviews

(c) - indicates defending champion

2019 WWE Royal Rumble Recap

The 32nd edition of the WWE Royal Rumble pay-per-view took place on Sunday, Jan. 29 at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona. This was the second time the Royal Rumble was held in Phoenix; the first time this event was held in this city, in 2013, The Rock defeated CM Punk to win the WWE championship -- setting up a WrestleMania main event between The Rock and Royal Rumble match winner John Cena.

2019 Royal Rumble results

2018 Royal Rumble results

(c) -- denotes defending champion

Royal Rumble winners

  • 2022 (St. Louis, Missouri): Ronda Rousey and Brock Lesnar

  • 2021 (St. Petersburg, Florida): Bianca Belair and Edge

  • 2020 (Houston, Texas): Charlotte Flair and Drew McIntyre

  • 2019 (Phoenix, Arizona): Becky Lynch and Seth Rollins

  • 2018 (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania): Asuka and Shinsuke Nakamura

  • 2017 (San Antonio, Texas): Randy Orton

  • 2016 (Orlando, Florida): Triple H*

  • 2015 (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania): Roman Reigns

  • 2014 (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania): Batista

  • 2013 (Phoenix, Arizona): John Cena

  • 2012 (St. Louis, Missouri): Sheamus

  • 2011 (Boston, Massachusetts): Alberto Del Rio

  • 2010 (Atlanta, Georgia): Edge

  • 2009 (Detroit, Michigan): Randy Orton

  • 2008 (New York, NY): John Cena

  • 2007 (San Antonio, Texas): The Undertaker

  • 2006 (Miami, Florida): Rey Mysterio

  • 2005 (Fresno, California): Batista

  • 2004 (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania): Chris Benoit

  • 2003 (Boston, Massachusetts): Brock Lesnar

  • 2002 (Atlanta, Georgia): Triple H

  • 2001 (New Orleans, Louisiana): "Stone Cold" Steve Austin

  • 2000 (New York, New York): The Rock

  • 1999 (Anaheim, California): Vince McMahon

  • 1998 (San Jose, California): Stone Cold Steve Austin

  • 1997 (San Antonio, Texas): Stone Cold Steve Austin

  • 1996 (Fresno, California): Shawn Michaels

  • 1995 (Tampa, Florida): Shawn Michaels

  • 1994 (Providence, Rhode Island): Lex Luger & Bret Hart^

  • 1993 (Sacramento, California): Yokozuna

  • 1992 (Albany, New York): Ric Flair*

  • 1991 (Miami, Florida): Hulk Hogan

  • 1990 (Orlando, Florida): Hulk Hogan

  • 1989 (Houston, Texas): Big John Studd

  • 1988 (Hamilton, Ontario, Canada): Hacksaw Jim Duggan

* - The WWE championship was on the line | ^ - Luger and Hart were eliminated simultaneously